infinitiff

silent films….really aren’t so bad!

Leave a comment

Photo by Peter Iovino/The Weinstein Company

They’re actually kind of amazing!  Have you seen The Artist?  The past few months, I’ve been thinking “I do not have the attention span to sit through a silent film.”  Boy – was I wrong.  Somehow, that little guy, Oscar, convinced me; so I went out and got a copy of The Artist at one of our local Phnom Penh DVD shops.  I finished it last night and totally agree – it did deserve the Academy Award for Best Film.  Perhaps it may even push film-making to new styles and boundaries, contrary to other reviewers who believe it merely recreated the past.  Moreover, Michael Hazavanicius and actors Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo have brought back the art of expression in film – using all of the body and the face!  It will be great to see how the filmosphere harnesses its actors in that way in the future.  Plus I’m kinda hooked on the styles of the 1920s and 30s now.  Gotta figure how to recreate those looks here.  Oh and Best Actor Jean Dujardin!  My francophilia is so back in action.  Gotta love that guy, Oscar.

Leave a Reply

