infinitiff

Tiff’s Top 40 of 2011

Leave a comment

Background by Eric Cahan Sky Series 2011

I have to say – I was a tad disappointed by Pitchfork’s Top 100 of 2011 list this year.  I’d been looking forward to uncovering all this hidden tracks with so much potential of an aural orgasm.  Instead – as I skipped through this list over the past week – I was met with disappointment.  Then again, perhaps the darker, slightly more experimental  rhythms of Pitchfork’s selection didn’t match with my desire to seek out more pop-inflected beats?

Background by Eric Cahan Sky Series 2011

Either way – here’s my selection of top tunes for 2011!  These are the ones that were most definitely on repeat all year.  There is no ultimate favourite, so the order of the alphabet will have to do.  I appreciate them all equally, but there are definitely a few standouts which are oh so inspired.  Jay-Z and Kanye’s Otis is one them, as is my new discovery for the year – Azari & III.  And it’s just oh so cool how the sounds of the 70s and 80s were taken on an electronic journey this year.  Which is kinda appropos with the recession looming above us.  Isn’t it amazing how periods like this breed creativity?  Anyways – I loved these tunes and they definitely helped put a hop in my step while wandering the London streets of driving through stretches of the Autobahn – and I hope you do too!

You can listen to the Infinitiff Top 40 streaming here (and below) or you can download the list here and here!

Leave a Reply

