infinitiff

best thing about unemployment?…reading!

Leave a comment

Source: My Revelment's Tumblr

I’ve never been on a break for so freakin’ long.  Previous breaks have been undesired – like getting sick or having to get knee surgery.  Enforced breaks, one can suppose.  I get bored really easily…and I can be like a small child constantly needing to be stimulated and needing a set schedule of activities so I don’t go crazy.  Wow – I sound like I have cabin fever, don’t I? Well never fear – I’m hoping this spell will be gone soon and I’ve got applications for work in Cambodia, Ethiopia and now ones to Jordan and Bangladesh either sent off or as a work in progress.  One of them has to work out, right? Fingers crossed!

Audrey Hepburn reads...

Anyways – this post is supposed to be about reading.  I seem to get to do a lot of that these days and I am incredibly thankful for my nifty iPad for that.  Being stuck out in the middle of rural Germany means not so many English-language bookstores for me; and those that do exist in Frankfurt cost an arm and a leg.

Marilyn Monroe reads

And reading on a tablet isn’t so bad!  I can’t believe I spent such a long time contemplating about it! Reading on the Kindle and iBook apps on my iPad are just as pleasant as reading from a physical book.  The only component that’s lost is the anticipation of the ending.  Instead of noticing that you’re towards the end of your 1000 page tome, you’re told that you’ve read approximately 89% of the content.  Weird eh? Well at least I can tell friends that I’m 75% done a book now.

Elvis reads...

Now getting back to the point of this post….I thought I’d post my reading queue – for those of you who are too busy to consider reading (luck you! that means you’re working!) or anyone looking for a new piece of screen or page to read.

Happy Reading!

PS – Check out Awesome People Reading – where I got today’s photos from! A great sister site to Awesome People Hanging Out Together

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling…Mindy Kaling is the kinda girl we all want to be friends with.  Not only is she great on screen but she’s equally great in print.  Check out her hilarious New Yorker article on romantic comedies!

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins…This one I’m saving for a rainy day (or more preferably – a very long flight to my new home).  I also know I’ll devour each of these books in a day and I can’t wait for that time to come.  In the meantime, I feel like I need more adult fare, like…

Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand…I love classic mega-long novels set in dystopian futures with a philosophical bent.  Plus, this has always been in the queue and since i have nothing better to do now…

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese…was recommended by my friend Courtney and I’m super keen to read it since it’s set in my dream-work-country Ethiopia and is one of those multi-generational family dramas that I love.

In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson…is a piece of non-fiction so crazy that it could be fiction; and the title says it all, doesn’t it?  Set in the 1930s-40s Berlin, Larson unfolds the drama of the Dodd family, lead by the American Ambassador to Germany during WWII, William Dodd.  It seems a bit weird to be reading about this subject while in Germany right now, but the recent neo-Nazi murders are freaking me out enough to want to uncover more about what happened during this unfortunate era.

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides…I love books set in universities, involving a coming of age, and even better, it’s set during an economic recession – so stuff I can currently relate to.  Plus, Jeffrey Eugenides is a favourite.

And one more….The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman…This story is perfect for me.  A quasi-comedy set in an English-language newspaper in Rome? Yes! Expatriates in foreign lands? Woohoo!  Can’t wait to dive into this Rubik’s cube of a novel.

Leave a Reply

