infinitiff

a toast to my cities!

Leave a comment

Source: itsonbitch.tumblr.com via Kylee on Pinterest

Cities are amazing!  And they are growing, with over 2/3 of the world’s population expected to be living in cities by 2030!  They each have their own individual personality, rhythm and colour.  The great writer, Alain de Botton, even once wrote that “cities are enormous libraries, filled not with books, but with people,” and I couldn’t agree more.  I tend to thrive in cities and I love that my energy grows and becomes unique with the energy of wherever I am.  I may fight it at first, trying to drum to my own beat, but eventually, I become but another cell within the living, breathing organism that is an urban centre.

So in celebration of cities, here are 4 amazing time lapse photo-video tributes to the cities that are writ into my blood.  And I can’t wait to see where I’ll wind up next! But of course, there are downsides of city living too….check out the final video!

Toronto – the massive tossed salad, where I was born and raised, and always will be home.

Toronto Tempo from Ryan Emond on Vimeo.

Hong Kong…the megacity that my parents are from, where we spent countless family trips, and every time I return, it’s bigger, it’s brighter and an even more intense experience.

HD Time Lapse Footage (timelapse) – Hong Kong, China from HDtimelapse.net on Vimeo.

Phnom Penh – where I planted my feet into my restless 20s, met D to begin a completely amazing adventure with, and really began to soak all of life in.

Phnomtime Penhlapse – A city in timelapse from David Simon on Vimeo.

London – land of academia!  Where I last was and had an amazing year of learning (and beer) while making some really great friends.

You’ve Got to Love London from Alex Silver on Vimeo.

And of course, who wouldn’t want to live in New York City?  The only downside of cities are the traffic.  I hate aggressive drivers and bikers, though I can often be an aggressive pedestrian…and biker myself. Check out this video of ridiculous traffic at the corner of Park Avenue and 28th Street in Manhattan!

3-Way Street from ronconcocacola on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

